Leave a comment

What is best in life?

What is best in life?

To crush your enemies, drive them before you, and hear the lamentation of their women.

I’m not going to lie, some days I agree with Conan. (Above quote is from the movie Conan the Barbarian.  And some days I go to work and, well, let’s say it feels apropos.)

What is really best in life?

A big ass bowl of chili, with sour cream and jalapenos (I really like the pickled ones, is this weird?), and oyster crackers.

It’s getting cold out there. Bust out your favorite big pot (or crock pot) and make your favorite chili. Or make my favorite chili.  But whatever you make, eat it with friggin oyster crackers, I promise you’ll love it.

Maggie’s Favorite Vegetarian Chili

Actually that’s a misnomer, I haven’t even bothered to try any other vegetarian chili.  It’s a riff on Madhur Jaffrey’s Tex-Mex chili, only much, much lazier.

2 15 oz. cans chili tomatoes

2 15 oz. cans kidney beans, chili beans, or a combo of both

1 onion, chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped

1 jalapeno, or 1/2 of one or none at all.

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup lentils, rinsed

3-4 1/2 c. water or veg broth

1 1/2 t. ground cumin

2 t. paprika (I use smoked, but I’m cool like that)

1/2 t. dried thyme

1/2 t. dried crumbled sage

1 t. dried oregano

1/4 t. cayenne

1 1/2 t. salt

—-

Heat up your pan and add about 1 T olive oil.  Plop in the onions, garlic and bell pepper, stir and fry for a couple minutes.  Add in tomatoes (with their juice), beans, lentils and all the seasonings.  Mix everything around really well.  Pour in your stock/water – I did about 3 cups.  So, here is where I get super lazy and I just put this in the oven at 350 for about 2, 2 1/2 hours or just leave it simmering on the stove for about an hour or until the lentils are smooshy.  Then, of course, put it in a bowl and eat it.

 

Leave a Reply

