3 Comments

Fried Chicken & Waffles & Hey there

This is the chicken with hot sauce and honey. SO AMAZING.

So, a couple weeks ago I made fried chicken and waffles. I’ll get to that. Talking about it with friends, someone said, Redhead, why don’t you write about the stuff you make? And I said, pshaw, because it’s nothing! And they contradicted me. Then ANOTHER friend told me I should write about this stuff. Then even ANOTHER friend told me I should write about this so here I am.

The actual cooking in this is a few weeks old already but I feel like … the truth is that fried chicken and waffles is the dish that makes everyone go kind of crazy. Because folks. It is fried chicken. And then it is a waffle.

The Archaeologist left for Greece about a week and a half ago,  so he had his last home-cooked, non-Greek food meal for a month on a Wednesday. Dude knows his stuff because he requested fried chicken. And not just fried chicken but fried chicken and waffles.  But… on a weeknight? Then I remembered the whole leaving for Greece thing.

I generally use the fried chicken “recipe” from The Kitchn. I worked it out about 2 years ago when I decided to go crazy and fry 4-5 chickens for my 30th birthday party. It was epic. That recipe says things like “use Crisco” and “don’t put any seasoning in the flour” and that? It is all lies. I made it that way the first time and it was good. I mean, that recipe is awesome, so don’t misunderstand. But there are improvements to be made … like in the egg wash, throw in hot sauce. Oh yes. And don’t skimp at all. I use Louisiana hot sauce for this but I was thinking about using some Siracha sauce the next time I do it and honestly if you don’t like hot sauce then don’t do it, I don’t care. It just gives it a nice oomph.

So if you’re fancy and not doing this last minute, you can either brine or soak your chicken in buttermilk the night before. Sometimes you just have to make fried chicken on a Wednesday night though, so you deal with it. That’s life. Suck it up, and move on. And then put your chicken in a pan and throw a little bit of buttermilk on top of it while you get your dredging stations up.Does this make a difference? Scientifically, maybe not. Mentally? Maybe.

So the next step is obviously frying it. This is a terribly imprecise process and you can get ridiculous about it and start poking your meat thermometer in your chicken while it’s frying and whatever. Stick your floured pieces in hot oil. Enjoy the sizzling sound. Wait at least 5 minutes and then flip them. Wait again and flip them again. Then I just start watching them for color. If you’re concerned about salmonella and keeping your chicken hot, after you drain the oil off them pop ‘em in the oven at 350-400 until everything is done frying.

Then you eat the chicken. This is like a treatise on frying chicken but I love it so damn much. I am passionate about fried chicken. Which is utterly ridiculous, I know. Oh right, I almost forgot. Make waffles. Just plain old waffles. You do this while the chicken is frying. And then make some vegetables or something so you don’t just have meat and carbs for dinner. I made gravy for this because the Archaeologist requested it but next time NO GRAVY and put hot sauce and honey on your fried chicken and die from the orgasm that your mouth is going to give you.

Waffle recipe I used is below.  You could add stuff but don’t. You think it’s a good idea but it’s not. Unless the stuff you’re adding is mashed potatoes, cheese and green onion but that is a different story altogether.

Also this post feels like a lie because I am like 90-95% vegetarian these days for various reasons so don’t expect that every day around here is going to be fried chicken and waffles or sausages and unicorn steaks. Next up: uh, no idea. Yet.

WAFFLES

For the record I have no idea where I got this recipe. I’ve been using this one for years now.

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 Tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups buttermilk

2 eggs

2 Tablespoons oil

1 teaspoon vanilla (omitted for this recipe, replaced with garlic powder!)

Combine dry ingredients. Combine wet ingredients in a separate bowl. Whisk your dry. Now whisk your wet. Now! Combine them! Augh! Don’t over-mix it! Now remember that it is time to turn on your waffle iron and realize you could have done this while you were mixing your stuff. (Don’t tell me you already turned it on. You did, didn’t you?)

Put some batter in that hot waffle iron. Mine beeps at me when it’s done. So convenient! But if yours doesn’t, it’s usually between 3-5 minutes. You can smell them, I promise.

Keep them warm if you want. They’re best eaten immediately out of the waffle iron. True story. But if you feel like you have to keep them warm or something, put them in the oven at around 250. Otherwise let them get cool and just pop them in the toaster before you eat them. These freeze, so don’t worry that it will make too many!

3 comments on “Fried Chicken & Waffles & Hey there

  1. Omg this is fantastic!!

  2. soft core blog! i love it!

  3. Mmm…need to fry some chicken. And awesome waffle recipe!

Leave a Reply

